When Plans Go Awry

Book Cover with land, one-room schoolhouse, schoolmarm on cover with words When Plans Go Awry by Denise M. Colby

When Plans Go Awry is Book 1 in the Best-laid Plans Series

Meet Olivia, Luke, the town of Washton, and its clever rooster, Bert, in Denise M. Colby’s debut novel, releasing June 4, 2024.

Olivia Carmichael escapes her past to be the next schoolmarm in the small ranching community of Washton, California. Her plan? Live a quiet spinster life, alone, never to depend on anyone ever again.

Luke Taylor selected a mail-order bride, a necessity to help raise his two younger sisters, and the only way he knew to protect his heart. His plans don’t include being responsible for the beautiful new schoolmarm, who threatens his resolve between his need to stay away and his need to be near to make sure she stays safe.

Along the way, neither feel much in control of their circumstances. Olivia’s carefully laid-out plans are challenged at every turn. Luke’s mail-order bride is not what he expected.

Will Luke and Olivia learn to trust God’s plan for their lives?

When Plans Go Awry won the Grand Prize in the Scrivenings Press #GetPubbed Contest for 2023, placing 1st place in the Historical category. It is the first of four books in this series being published by Scrivenings Press.

Denise M. Colby’s books on Goodreads
When Plans Go Awry When Plans Go Awry
reviews: 1
ratings: 1 (avg rating 5.00)

When Plans Go Awry